Here’s where I’ll be at AWP

A utilitarian post at best but…I will be at AWP for about 36 hours if you want to track me down:   Friday eve at AWP Heat: The Fire Inside (assuming my plane lands on time)

This is meant to be figurative

This is meant to be figurative (click on pic for event details)

And….Saturday I will participate in a panel at the Hynes Convention Center (think stellar ambiance) on putting out your first book– an author/publisher perspective. It will be held from 10:30-11:45 in room #210 and should be lively.

This is how you end up in a universe across the galaxy

This is how you end up in a universe across the galaxy

And…                                                                                                                                                        Sat eve I will be reading in Cambridge at the Literary Firsts Series

I am told Boston is close to Cambridge (click on pic for more details of event)

I am told Boston is close to Cambridge (click on pic for more details of event)

 

That is all.

2 thoughts on “Here’s where I’ll be at AWP

  1. Guess I just missed your appearance in my town, Cambridge. 43 and retired from hitchhiking, for now at least—working and raising teenagers now but I have my written about my travels and occasionally even talk about them but the vocabulary for traveling and women is not always there even for someone who always likes to tell a story

  2. Hello Vanessa! A friend of mine just sent me your piece on The American Reader, “Lack of female road narratives and why it matters” and it really struck a chord with me. I was going to email you directly but couldn’t find contact information anywhere, so am contacting you here! I’m a writer, a queer woman, sort of youngish (30) and new in my career, was a transient trainhopper for most of my twenties, and just self-published a novella on Amazon of some of my travels. It’s called “Ten Thousand Miles by Freight Train: A Memoir of Beauty and Freedom on the Rails,” and it’s sort of a publishing experiment, a way to test the waters while I work on the full-length version. It’s true, what you wrote in your essay- there is a GIANT hole in the literary cannon where female road narratives should be. Especially female road narratives where power flows in the direction that it does in male road narratives- where the woman traveler has the power and agency, as opposed to being the hapless victim. It’s kind of my life’s work to try and remedy this.

    I just wanted to say that I am so glad that you exist and I am going to read your book, Zazen, asap. And I read that you are somewhat away from the internet right now but if you do see this and feel up to it, I would love to correspond with you about all of this. You can email me at krotten (at) gmail (dot) com. And I’m stoked that you have another book coming out!

    Best,
    Carrot Quinn

Leave a Reply

