Zazen, The Guardian UK, Bookslut, and the fateful voyage of the Essex

I found out this morning that Bookslut nominated ZAZEN for the Guardian’s (UK) consideration for their First Book Award. This is how I felt…

click here for the actual Poets & Writers announcement

Though I know that my chances are very slim–after all, nobody in the UK knows who I am at all–I am still very, very honored to be considered and grateful to Bookslut for thinking of me. It quickly fell into my Essex obsession. After ll, Essex is in England.

aqua and shades nearest is still my favorite color

and there is a long and frightful history of the US naming bloody ships (all meanings intended) Essex. Here’s a svelte clod of  space metal from the late 1800s–such vision! such..uh, er, nevermind. And yet, that Essex had an ancestor more to the heart of my fascination…

nice whalie, no ship. Oh, okay, go ahead.

So I’m not saying that my chances at the Guardian longlist is similar to the fate of the Essex, but there is a big sea between this shore and that. Still, “Strange! Nothing will content them but the extremest limit of the land; loitering under the shady lee of yonder warehouses will not suffice. No. They must get just as nigh the water as they possibly can without falling in.”

Leave a Reply

