Cursor Launches its first imprint, Red Lemonade

YES!!!!!!!!!   OUT IN MAY 2011 (WORLDWIDE!!!!)

.image

Zazen Vanessa Veselka (May 2011)

CURSOR LAUNCHES ITS FIRST IMPRINT, RED LEMONADE, AND ANNOUNCES SPRING 2011 LIST

FRANKFURT, 5 OCTOBER 2011

On the eve of the Frankfurt Book Fair and on the day of Tools of Change Frankfurt, Cursor’s founder and CEO, Richard Nash, is pleased to announce the line-up of books for Red Lemonade, their first publishing imprint.

Someday This Will Be Funny Lynne Tillman (Apr 2011)
Zazen Vanessa Veselka (May 2011)
Follow Me Down Kio Stark (June 2011)

They will be available in the book trade in trade paperback, as digital downloads in all formats and channels, and as a limited edition artisanal object direct from the publisher.

“While Cursor’s aim is nothing less than the reinvention of the publishing business model,” said Nash, “all publishing begins with the writer, in our case three writers, all women, one an internationally-celebrated novelist, the other two thrilling debuts by writers with long careers ahead of them. They are powerful representatives of the kind of writing Red Lemonade will foster, house, and promote.”

Vanessa Veselka is something like a literary comet: bright-burning, far-reaching, rarely seen, and a little dangerous.—Tom Bissell

comets rarely survive the flight

In truth, it is very strange to have amazing people say nice things about you, which is why I felt funny about putting all this up here. However, I have been told it is (in part) the purpose of author blogs so here it is.

AND I want to say that it is my great, great honor that Zazen will be the first debut novel on Red Lemonade’s  list for Spring. I am awed. I am also thrilled to be alongside writers, Lynne Tillman and Kio Stark.

If You want to know more about Cursor and Richard Nash (and I think you should) check out his blog and watch the speech on novels and publishing: http://www.rnash.com/

Also–WORDSTOCK, Portland’s own literary festival, is happening this week and I am leading a workshop. This means I will be nervously haunting the hallways and easy to find if you are in town and looking for a literary experience of some kind. I’m not sure that came across the right way. Hmmmm….

I'll be hiding behind the chair

 

Seriously though, many truly great writers will be there, Steve Almond, Stephen Eliot, Kevin Sampsell, Jess Walter, etc….And Ooligan Press people, and so much more. Come on down!

http://www.wordstockfestival.com/

3 thoughts on “Cursor Launches its first imprint, Red Lemonade

  1. Dear Vanessa,
    Congratulations with your up-coming novel! I am looking forward to read it as I had a taste of it online. I wanted to ask you a question in regards of your work with Richard Nash. I am a student of transmedia and my research project is about innovations in the ways stories are “transmitted”. I read a lot about Cursor, Nash, Red Lemonade and it empowered me to say the least. Could you tell me what was your experience as a writer working in this environment? What is the difference compared to other publishers from your point of view? What were the mechanics exactly of putting readers and writers together in a synergy, in a community? I’ll greatly appreciate your reply as I am eager to hear your opinion.
    Thank you.
    Warmly
    Lena

    • Lena,
      Thanks for writing. My experience with Richard has been amazing and I can’t imagine ever wanting to go anywhere else. The Red Lemonade membership site hasn’t yet launched to the “public” but I’ve been on it and the tools for forming writers groups or workshopping manuscripts or publishing internally look great. I think it’s an experiment on the grand scale and have often said to friends that I would rather go down on this particular pirate ship than sail off on some checked-out delusional cruise with any mainstream publisher. However, much of my work with Richard up to this point has been fairly traditional in many ways, though much more collaborative. We have looked at every aspect of what we are doing together and I have not minded working without an advance because the numbers make sense to me. I know some authors consider this to be a heinous slide into self-marketing, but that hasn’t been my experience. I don’t have anything to do with marketing the book, I am just available to its readership in a different way. For me, this is a natural situation. It fits with my own DIY upbringing and is far less corporate. It leaves more control in my hands. Basically, I trust readers more than I trust “The Book Industry.” With Red Lemonade, a lot of this reader/writer interaction will take place online and I have the benefit of having seen the membership site that isn’t public yet, and while it will surely hit bumps and need tweaking, it’s pretty cool. I guess the main difference I feel as a writer at Red Lemonade is that the model is sustainable and I don’t feel pressure to prove myself in shallow momentary ways. Which isn’t to say that my books will continue to get printed forever if they don’t sell, but rather that the forms of publication that are now available allow for a fluidity that was never there before. Kind of like a PH scale. Writers can move along that spectrum back and forth; sometimes they are in a Read Only range, sometimes digital and print, and back the other way. Red Lemonade will allow for that and I think that is some of how the “reader/writer” language hits plain reality. Anyway, this has turned out to be quite an essay but the short answer is I LOVE Nash and what we’re doing with Red Lemonade. It’s based on reality and that’s always a plus.
      It’s all long term and

Leave a Reply

